A loyal, three legged dog

For the first time in a long time, I wrote something for me this morning. I haven’t put pen to paper for one of my characters in a long time; I’ve been distracted by the stories I tell for others. Their characters are more demanding, less flexible and extremely loud. They whinge if I ignore them. Mine are mild mannered and so neglected that they sit quietly in the corners of my brain I access the least, waiting forever patiently to pay them some attention, like a loyal, three legged dog with one eye.

But, I wrote something for me this morning and then again at lunch time and perhaps I will write some more on my train journey home. My writing familiar is hobbling along with me (figuratively speaking). He’s quite nimble, for a three legged creature and he’s helped me open the floodgate, just a smidgen. The words are flowing steadily to the thumping of his stubby tail and while the words aren’t a raging flood that threatens to consume me (yet), I’m enjoying their ebb and flow.

I’m not sure how I feel about sharing the process with the world in draft form but I think I just might force myself…watch this space (but don’t be disappointed if I change my mind – something about prerogative?)

PS. I’m really sorry for the long enduring span of digital silence – I was on a different channel.
PPS. Winter’s now over and bare feet are back – especially around the new office:)

No three legged one eyed dogs were harmed in the writing of this post.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

